France forward Antoine Griezmann may have drawn a blank in the 1-0 final loss to Portugal but he did win the UEFA EURO 2016 adidas Golden Boot ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Olivier Giroud.

Griezmann, who finished with six finals goals, opened his EURO account with a 90th-minute effort against Albania on matchday two. However, it was during the knockout stage that he really started to motor.

The Atlético Madrid attacker turned the game around with two strikes against the Republic of Ireland in the last 16, added another against Iceland in the quarter-finals and then netted both goals as Les Bleus ousted Germany in the last four. Only fellow countryman Michel Platini, in 1984, has scored more than Griezmann in one final tournament.

Griezmann: It's cruel and magnificent

Griezmann: It’s cruel and magnificent

“Maybe later I can feel proud, but for now it’s about the group,” said the 25-year-old. “I’m very disappointed for my team-mates. I really wanted to give them this trophy but I couldn’t score. It’s cruel and magnificent at the same time. We’ve lived through some extraordinary moments, and the saddest moments as well. We have to learn. But tonight we gave it our all and we have no regrets.”

Rival Ronaldo was taken off injured early in the final but still scooped the Silver Boot with three goals and three assists to go with his champions’ medal. Olivier Giroud picked up the Bronze Boot on three goals and two assists, pipping Dimitri Payet who had the same tally but played 50 minutes more.

UEFA EURO 2016 adidas Golden Boot: Antoine Griezmann, France: 6 goals (2 assists, 555 minutes)
UEFA EURO 2016 adidas Silver Boot: Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal: 3 goals (3 assists, 625 minutes)
UEFA EURO 2016 adidas Bronze Boot: Olivier Giroud, France: 3 goals (2 assists, 456 minutes)

Golden Boot highlights: Watch all of Griezmann’s goals

Watch all of Griezmann’s goals

UEFA European Championship top scorers
(1960-1976: from semi-finals; 1980–2008: from final tournament group stage)
2016: Antoine Griezmann (France) 6
2012: Fernando Torres (Spain) 3
2008: David Villa (Spain) 4
2004: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic) 5
2000: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milošević (Yugoslavia) 5
1996: Alan Shearer (England) 5
1992: Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Thomas Brolin (Sweden), Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinze Riedle (Germany) 3
1988: Marco van Basten (Netherlands) 5
1984: Michel Platini (France) 9
1980: Klaus Allofs (West Germany) 3
1976: Dieter Müller (West Germany) 4
1972: Gerd Müller (West Germany) 4
1968: Dragan Džajić (Yugoslavia) 2
1964: Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Dezső Novák (Hungary), Jesús María Pereda (Spain) 2
1960: Milan Galić (Yugoslavia), François Heutte (France), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Dražan Jerković (Yugoslavia), Viktor Ponedelnik (Soviet Union) 2

Highlights: Watch Platini’s nine goals at EURO 1984

Watch Michel Platini’s nine goals at EURO 1984

UEFA European Championship final tournament overall top scorers
9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
9: Michel Platini (France)
7: Alan Shearer (England)
6: Antoine Griezmann (France)
6: Wayne Rooney (England)
6: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
6: Thierry Henry (France)
6: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands)
6: Nuno Gomes (Portugal)
6: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands)

Source link

Betting On Football?

*Join BET365*

  • Get a €/£200 1st Deposit Bonus
  • Big selection of in-play markets
  • Live streaming of Over 60,000 sporting events
  • Best Odds Guaranteed on all UK/Irish Horse Racing
  • Bet365 Cashout lets you take a return on your bet before the market for your chosen selection closes.
Get your €/£200 Bonus Here