Cristiano Ronaldo has become only the third player – after Andrés Iniesta and Clarence Seedorf – in UEFA Champions League history to have appeared in four final wins.

Ronaldo scored twice in Real Madrid’s 4-1 success against Juventus on Saturday evening, his third triumph with the Merengues in the last four seasons. The 32-year-old, a UEFA EURO 2016 winner with Portugal last summer, first lifted the UEFA Champions League trophy with Manchester United in 2008.

Ronaldo’s UEFA Champions League wins
2007/08 (Manchester United)
2013/14 (Real Madrid)
2015/16 (Real Madrid)
2016/17 (Real Madrid)

Iniesta and Seedorf are the only other players to have matched Ronaldo’s feat, the Dutchman also being the sole man to have played in final victories with three different clubs.

Iniesta’s UEFA Champions League wins
2005/06 (Barcelona)
2008/09 (Barcelona)
2010/11 (Barcelona)
2014/15 (Barcelona)

Seedorf’s UEFA Champions League wins
1994/95 (Ajax)
1997/98 (Real Madrid)
2002/03 (Milan)
2006/07 (Milan)

Four other players have four UEFA Champions League titles to their name but took part in only three finals themselves:

Xavi Hernández: 2006*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Barcelona)
Lionel Messi: 2006*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Barcelona)
Gerard Piqué: 2008*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Manchester United, Barcelona)
Samuel Eto’o: 2000*, 2006, 2009, 2010 (Real Madrid, Barcelona, Inter)

*Did not play in the final

Source link

Betting On Football?

*Join BET365*

  • Get a €/£200 1st Deposit Bonus
  • Big selection of in-play markets
  • Live streaming of Over 60,000 sporting events
  • Best Odds Guaranteed on all UK/Irish Horse Racing
  • Bet365 Cashout lets you take a return on your bet before the market for your chosen selection closes.
Get your €/£200 Bonus Here